Safer Internet Day 2019

About Safer Internet Day

Safer Internet Day (SID) is an annual, worldwide event and was celebrated on Tuesday 5 February 2019 to help encourage a better internet. The theme this year was — 'Together for a better internet' — encouraging individuals and the community to create a better internet by developing four, critical skills. We call these skills the 4Rs: Respect, Responsibility, Reasoning and Resilience.

Celebrated globally in 150 countries, Safer Internet Day is coordinated by the joint Insafe/INHOPE network, with the support of the European Commission, and national Safer Internet Centres across Europe.

Save the date for SID2020

Safer Internet Day 2020 will be held on Tuesday 11 February. We are in the process of creating a theme and developing resources for SID2020. Send us an email to and we will keep you in the loop as soon as we have more to share.

Whether you’re an individual, school, small business, not-for-profit, sporting club
or large corporate we want you to share your support for SID2020.

Our role in SID2019

The eSafety Commissioner (eSafety) is the official Committee for Safer Internet Day in Australia—responsible for driving the initiative nationally.

eSafety ran a number of activities and events for individuals and organisations to participate in. Read our Safer Internet Day 2019 blog post for highlights on this years celebrations.

2019 Videos

Julie Inman-Grant
eSafety Commissioner

Andy Chauhan, Chief Information Security Officer Ausgrid

Demi Hayes

Tom Connor

Jesse Parahi

Dr Ilene Berson

Cheryl Vardon, Principal Commissioner
Queensland Family and Child Commission

Tessy Ojo

Dr Justin Patchin

Martin Cocker

Dr Michael Berson

Kids Helpline Counsellors
Kids Helpline

Louise Burrows
Wallaroos and School Teacher

Angelene Falk, Commissioner
Office of the Australian Information Commissioner

Jade Hameister
Polar Explorer

Alastair MacGibbon, Deputy Secretary National Cyber Coordinator
Australian Cybersecurity Centre

Brett Redman, CEO
AGL Energy

2018 Videos

Daniel Arzani
Melbourne City FC

Allan Alaalatoa

Julie Inman-Grant
eSafety Commissioner

Tim Robards
Chiropractor & TV personality

Tracey Spicer
Journailist & presenter

Samantha Bremner
St George Illawarra Dragons

Michael Jakobsen
Melbourne City FC

Ginger Gorman
Social justice journalist

Dale Copley
Gold Coast Titans

Daniel Arzani
Melbourne City FC

Kristin Lyons
Australia Post

Michael Bridges
Sports Commentator & former Leeds United player in the EPL

Ash London
Radio Host

Mitch Larkin
Olympic Swimmer

Tessy Ojo
The Diana Award

Rosie Thomas
Project Rockit

Jane Caro
Social commentator, writer & lecturer

Alastair MacGibbon
National Cyber Security Advisor

Dr Yuhyun Park
DQ Institute

Rick Shera
Chair, Netsafe Board & ICT Lawyer

Dr Ranjana Kumari
Centre for Social Research

David Wright
UK Safer Internet Centre at SWGfL

Louise Burrows
Brumbies & School Teacher

Shayne Elliott
CEO ANZ Banking Group Limited


Sign up for eSafety News

Stay up to date with online
issues, new resources, events, and the latest research.