Need help dealing with violent or distressing online content? Learn more

Register of industry codes and industry standards for online safety

eSafety is required to maintain a register of industry codes and industry standards for illegal online material, as well as notices eSafety issues in connection with the development of industry codes. 

Once an industry code is registered, or if an industry standard is determined by eSafety, it is published on this page. Notices issued by eSafety in connection with the development of industry codes are also published on this page.

Register of industry codes

The industry codes for five industry sections regarding class 1A and class 1B illegal material were added to the register on 16 June 2023, and come into effect on 16 December 2023. An additional industry code for internet search engine services was added to the register on 12 September 2023 and will come into effect on 12 March 2024.

Each code has a common set of Head Terms and a Schedule, which outlines the terms applicable to the relevant section of the online industry covered by that code.

Industry codes (Head Terms)

Please note the latest version of the Industry Codes Head Terms, dated 12 September 2023, supersedes the previous version, dated 16 June 2023, to reflect the registration of the Internet Search Engine Services Online Safety Code with no changes to the substantive provisions. 

Notices issued to representatives of industry sections

In April 2022, eSafety issued notices to industry representatives for the development of industry codes for online safety, to apply to eight key sections of the online industry by 9 September 2022. The eight key sections of the online industry are defined in the Online Safety Act 2021 (Cth). They include:

  • providers of social media services
  • providers of relevant electronic services (for example instant messaging services, chat services and online multi-player gaming)
  • designated internet services (includes websites)
  • providers of search engine services
  • providers of app distribution services
  • providers of hosting services
  • providers of internet carriage services
  • manufacturers, suppliers, maintainers and installers of equipment used to access online services.

eSafety issued a second set of notices in June 2022, which extended the due date for industry codes to be submitted for eSafety’s consideration by 18 November 2022. Both the original and variation notices can be found on this page. 

Last updated: 29/11/2023