My nudes have been shared
The nudes (or partial nudes) can be real photos or videos, or fakes that have been made to look like they are you.
If this has happened to you, you are not alone and there is a lot of support out there.
Here are some tips for how to take action and get help.
What to do
Finding out that your nude has been shared online can be very upsetting, but try to stay calm and remember that you’re not alone. It’s normal to feel a range of emotions such as anger, frustration and embarrassment. Talk to an adult you trust, such as a parent, a support service like Kids Helpline or another counselling service and take these steps to get the image or video removed:
If your nudes have been shared, your immediate reaction might be to delete the message or post, but it can be really helpful to have a record of what’s happened, especially if you want to report it to eSafety, the social media service or the police.
Take screenshots of the account usernames, messages and posts involved, including URLs and keep these in a safe place. Be careful about screenshotting nude images, even if it’s a nude selfie. Creating, possessing or sharing nude images of people under 18 may be a crime. For more information read our advice on collecting evidence.
Report and block
If your nudes have been shared, or someone has threatened to share your nudes, you can make an image-based abuse report to eSafety. You can make a report no matter how old you are – and if you prefer you can get a friend or trusted adult to help you fill out the report form. Our team is here to help.
The posting or sharing of nude images or videos without someone’s consent is against the guidelines of most social media services. So, if you prefer to report to the social media service yourself you can find reporting links and other useful info in the eSafety Guide.
If you are concerned about your physical safety, contact your local police – or call Triple Zero (000) if it’s an emergency.
When you have taken your screenshots and reported what has happened, you can then block the other person’s account to stop them contacting you. See how to do this in the eSafety Guide.