Tips on how to stay safe online during the COVID-19 pandemic

COVID-19 Alert

Due to the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) it may take longer than usual to address all reports or enquiries made with our investigation teams.

Please continue to submit reports and we will review them as soon as possible.

If you are worried about your safety or are at risk of harm right now contact police immediately by calling Triple Zero (000).

If you need someone to talk to and are under 25, contact Kids Helpline (1800 55 1800).
For all other ages, contact Lifeline on 13 11 14.

Who we are

The eSafety Commissioner (eSafety) is Australia’s national independent regulator for online safety.

eSafety leads and coordinates online safety efforts across Commonwealth departments, authorities and agencies, and we engage with key online safety stakeholders internationally, to amplify our impact across borders. The activities of the eSafety Commissioner are governed by the Enhancing Online Safety Act 2015 (Cth) but our remit has been extensively broadened since our establishment four years ago. Julie Inman Grant is the eSafety Commissioner.

eSafety has worked to define its Mission, Vision and Values and create a dynamic strategic planning framework for 2019-2022.