Snapchat is a mobile application that allows users to capture pictures and videos and send them as messages to other Snapchat users. Every Snapchat message has a viewing time limit ranging from 1 to 10 seconds, as selected by the sender. The timer starts when the recipient views the message. When the time limit is reached, the message is deleted and can no longer be viewed using Snapchat.
Website URL: www.snapchat.com
Snapchat is intended for people who are at least 13 years old. Persons under the age of 13 are prohibited from creating Snapchat accounts. For certain features or functionality offered, users must be at least 18 years old.
By default, anyone who knows your username can send you a message.
In order to message someone on Snapchat, you need to know their username and add them to your My Friends list.
You can configure your Snapchat profile to only receive messages from users on your My Friends list and to control who you share your stories with. To access these settings, you can:
Right: an example of how to adjust your privacy settings on Snapchat.
Prior to transmitting a message, the sender is able to save a copy of the image they have composed. After sending a message, the sender can no longer view it through the Snapchat application.
Although the ability to save received messages is not part of the Snapchat application, it may be possible for recipients to use built-in features of the Android and Apple iOS operating systems to take a screenshot or screen-capture. It is also possible to use a second device to take a picture of the message as it displays on the screen.
Snapchat attempts to detect if a recipient takes a screenshot or screen-capture and sends a notification to the sender when possible.
Snap Map lets you share your real-time location, which your friends can view on an interactive map.
You can launch Snap Map by pinching the Snapchat camera home screen.
From here, you can choose to share your location with all of your friends, some of them, or keep it private with ‘Ghost Mode’, which hides you from the map but still allows you to track your friends.
Snaps you or others submit to Our Story will show up in the map mode and can be seen by any Snap Chat user (not just your friends).
To learn more about the Map and how it works:
Note: To use Snap Map, you’ll need to enable location services in your device settings.
Keep your Snapchat password private to prevent your account, and your saved snaps, from falling into the wrong hands. See further advice about this issue and ways to protect yourself.
If you receive an unwanted, sexually explicit message or are the subject of harassment, you can report it to Snapchat.
To block and/or remove a user, you can:
Right: an example of how to block or delete a user on Snapchat.
You can visit www.snapchat.com for more information, including: