What is Signal?
Signal is an encrypted private messaging app owned by the Signal Foundation. You can send messages, make audio and video calls, send voice notes, images and videos to your contacts which are secure, untracked and free. Your messages can be set to ‘disappearing messages’ which means you can set a time limit on how long your messages will last once they have been sent to a contact. This can be anywhere between 5 seconds to one week — after it reaches the time limit, the message disappears. You can also set ‘view once’ content which means once your content has been sent and seen by the person you’ve sent it to, the content disappears. These features allow for secure and private messaging and mean that your conversations are not saved on your device or the app. Once a message is sent, only the recipient knows who it is from.
The app automatically links with your existing contacts so you can see who else you know is using the app. Signal runs on desktop and mobile platforms and supports all file types.
Platforms: Windows, Mac OS, Linux, Android, Apple iOS.
How do people use Signal?
Learn more about the benefits and risks associated with how people use secure messaging and audio/video calling apps like Signal.
How do I report security concerns, or block a user or group?
- Contact Support
Use this form to submit a Signal support request.
- Block a user or group
Get instructions on blocking another Signal user or group who may be behaving inappropriately.
How can you protect your personal information?
Read Signal’s policy on how they handle your information.
- Is it really private?
Learn how to tell if your communication is secure on Signal.
- Unregister or delete an account
Get instructions on disabling your phone number from being recognised as a Signal user.
- Safety numbers
Understand what end-to-end encryption is and what it means as well as and Signal’s ‘safety numbers’.