Australia's eSafety Commissioner Julie Inman Grant announced as judge for 2021 Legacy Awards in memory of Diana, Princess of Wales

Australia’s eSafety Commissioner, Julie Inman Grant is to be a part of an international and diverse judging panel for the 2021 Legacy Award. This month, Ms Inman Grant, will meet with the judging panel, chaired by Lord Spencer, to select the twenty winners from a poll of international nominations.

The 2021 Legacy Award Ceremony will be hosted by Lord Spencer, brother of Princess Diana, at Althorp House on 9 December 2021. The event, supported with funding by Gilead Sciences, will see twenty young people, from across the world, awarded for their humanitarian work.  

The Legacy Award is the most prestigious accolade a young person can receive for their social action or humanitarian work.  The Duke of Cambridge and The Duke of Sussex presented the inaugural legacy awards at St. James’ Palace in 2017. 

Ms Inman Grant, eSafety Commissioner, says: 

“Alongside an exceptional line-up of judges, I’m truly honoured to play a part in acknowledging the incredible and inspiring ideas of our young people. It’s absolutely critical that we include young people as part of the process when we look for ways to make an impact and improve the lives of others – both online and offline. With these inspirational young people leading the way, the future is bright.”

Tessy Ojo CBE, Chief Executive, The Diana Award says: 

“Hosting the Legacy Awards at Diana, Princess of Wales’ family home is especially poignant as we mark what would have been her 60th birthday.  In a year that has seen young people’s lives disrupted by the Pandemic it is even more important that we honour, celebrate but also invest in those young people from across the world, who through their selfless trailblazing efforts have changed lives in their communities. We are incredibly grateful to both Lord Spencer for hosting this event as well as Gilead Sciences, who for the third year running, are sponsoring the Legacy Awards.” 

Legacy Award recipients will have access to a programme that provides them with the opportunity to enhance their skills in four key areas; leadership, community development, social entrepreneurship and technology for good.  

- Ends -


Judging Panel 2021


ALEX CRUZ, former Chairman and CEO of British Airways, Vueling and Clickair.

SEAN DOYLE, Chief Executive and Chairman of British Airways.

JOE GARNER, Chief Executive of Nationwide Building Society

SHOMY HASAN CHOWDHURY, multi-award-winning Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) activist from Bangladesh.

LORD DR MICHAEL HASTINGS CBE, Chancellor of Regent’s University London and Professor or Leadership at the Stephen L Covey Institute at the University of Utah.

DR SAMEER HINDUJA, Professor in the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice at Florida Atlanta University.

SALLY HOLLAND, Children’s Commissioner for Wales 

DIANA HOSFORD, Vice President of Sports & Entertainment for the Tragedy Assistance Program for Survivors in USA.

JULIE INMAN GRANT, Australia’s eSafety Commissioner. 

TEMITOPE JEMRIGBE, CEO DKK Nigeria.  Chairman for Women in Advertising, AAAN

ALEX KALOMPARIS, Vice President for Public Affairs at Gilead Sciences.  

SANDARA KELSO-ROBB MBE, Founder and Managing Director of Kelso-Robb Consulting, in Northern Ireland.

CHARLOTTE KIRBY, Vice President of Global Strategic Relations at Salesforce. 

DANIEL LAWES, Co-founder and Chairman of YouthPolitics UK

ROSIE NIXON, Editor-in-Chief of HELLO! magazine

DAME RACHEL DE SOUZA, Children’s Commissioner for England

TORIE WEISTON-SERDAN, a scholar and practitioner with over 17 years of teaching and youth programming experience. She is founding member of MENTOR CA.

ANTHONY YAZBECK, President & COO International, at WeWork

KOULLA YIASOUMA, NI Commissioner for Children and Young People 


For further information on The Diana Award please contact Emma Pelling on: 07958 558172, 

For more information / arrange an interview, please contact: