Digital platform regulators make joint submission on AI

In a joint submission to the Department of Industry, Science and Resources (DISR) consultation on the ‘Safe and responsible AI in Australia’ Discussion Paper, members of the Digital Platform Regulators forum (DP-REG) have outlined the opportunities and challenges presented by rapid advances in artificial intelligence (AI).

DP-REG comprises the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC), the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), the eSafety Commissioner (eSafety) and the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (OAIC)

In its submission, DP-REG highlighted the potential impacts of AI in relation to each member’s existing regulatory framework. The submission supported an approach which considered how existing regulatory frameworks may be utilised or strengthened, including through existing reform proposals, to provide appropriate safeguards for the Australian public in relation to this technology. 

The submission also flags that coordination between DP-REG members and other arms of government to leverage complementary strengths and expertise will remain crucial to Australia’s response to AI.

DP-REG’s contribution to the consultation follows the release of our strategic priorities announced in July 2023, where the regulators agreed to considering the potential benefits and harms of AI, focusing on consumer protection, competition, media and the information environment, privacy and online safety.

Through DP-REG, members engage in ongoing collaboration, information sharing and coordination on digital platform regulation. Members engage with government counterparts, academic experts, and industry stakeholders to raise awareness of challenges facing Australians on digital platforms – including the rapid growth of AI tools. 

Through a continued commitment to build joint capacity and work end-to-end across the digital regulatory spectrum, the forum aims to strengthen whole-of-government responses to AI, tackling issues that fall within their respective domains.

DP-REG is led by the heads of each member regulator:
•    Gina Cass-Gottlieb (Chair, ACCC)
•    Nerida O’Loughlin PSM (Chair, ACMA)
•    Julie Inman Grant (eSafety Commissioner, eSafety)
•    Angelene Falk (Australian Information Commissioner and Privacy Commissioner, OAIC).

This communique is jointly released by the ACCC, ACMA, eSafety and OAIC.

For more information or to request an interview, please contact: