What is Snapchat?
Snapchat is a messaging app that lets you send images, videos or instant text messages to friends. These images, videos and messages are only available for a short period of time once they are opened. You can also use filters on your images and upload photo and video stories that last for 24 hours before they disappear. Businesses and organisations can create their own channels. Content posted to Snapchat is not as temporary as it may appear, as users can save chats or screenshot them without the sender knowing. Adult content can also be accessed in the app.
How do people use Snapchat?
Learn more about the benefits and risks associated with how people use image sharing and chat services like Snapchat.
How can you report online abuse, ask for content to be removed or block someone?
- Report abuse
How to report abusive behaviour on Snapchat.
- Remove or block someone
How to stop someone from contacting you.
How can you protect your personal information?
- Privacy settings
Learn how to make your account as secure as possible.
- Who can see your Snaps and Chats?
Learn how Snapchat servers keep and delete the content you create.
Key safety links
- Tips for staying safe
Provides a range of information for staying safe on Snapchat.
- Parent’s guide
Provides a range of safety information for parents and carers.
- Safety centre
Offers a range of general help, safety and security information.
- Community guidelines
The basic rules for using Snapchat.
- Terms of service
The terms you agree to when you use Snapchat.